{Review} Laurelwood Books

Latin and Penmanship {Laurelwood Books Review}

Are you looking to teach your young children Latin?  I had the pleasure of reviewing Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Reader I and Workbook I from Laurelwood Books!

 

Latin and Penmanship {Laurelwood Books Review}

Latin and Penmanship {Laurelwood Books Review}
Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Reader I and Workbook I are the first reader and workbook in a series of six.  The combination reader and workbook that my family received are designed for grades 2 through 5 and no prior knowledge of Latin is needed to be go through this book and workbook.  I thought it was a great time to introduce Sweet Pea to the Latin language.

In the Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Reader I, the reader begins with an explanation of how to use the reader, Latin pronunciation, Roman Numeral reference sheet, and three stories writing in both English and Latin.  It is suggested to read through the Latin version multiple times to aid in the retention of the words.

There are three stories in the Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Reader I.  The three stories are The Three Little Pigs, The Tortoise and the Hare, & The Crow and the Pitcher.  As mentioned above all of the stories are written in both English and Latin.  Every story includes 1-2 drawings corresponding to the story on every page.  There are corresponding workbook pages for every Latin page in the reader and are listed at the bottom of every page.  Every Latin page has a vocabulary list in the margin with vocabulary words in both Latin and English.  I find having this list very helpful.  They also identify all of the adjectives and direct objects in every Latin story (the key is located under the vocabulary list on the pages).

LaurelwoodBooks1
The Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Workbook I is consumable and contains both the student pages and the lesson.  Some of the activities in the workbook include translating the words from English to Latin and from Latin to English, fill in the blank with additional translation, and matching English and Latin words to each other.  There is an answer key for all of the workbook pages located in the back of the Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Workbook I.

Overall, this is a nice program and I think it is great program to introduce to Latin language.  The lessons are a perfect length!  We were able to easily fit the lessons into our schedule without having to move anything around.  Sweet Pea told me that she wish there were games or hands on activities to go along with the workbook activities.   While I didn’t add any games or hands-on activities, with the short length of the lessons, there is enough time to add something in should you choose.  The price is great too!  Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Reader I and Workbook I are very affordable.  The reader is $8.95 and the workbook is $17.95.

Readers available in this series:

Reader I: The Three Little Pigs, The Tortoise and the Hare, and The Crow and the Pitcher
Reader II: The Good Samaritan, The Ant and the Chrysalis, and The Lost Sheep
Reader III: The Feeding of the 5000, and the Lion and the Mouse
Reader IV: The History of Creating the World
Reader V: We Know a Tree by its Fruit and Daniel part I
Reader VI: The Prodigal Son

 

You can find Laurelwood Books on Facebook.

Please click the link below for more reviews of Olim, Once upon a Time in Latin, Reader I and Workbook I by Laurelwood Books as well as reviews for some of the other products by Laurelwood Books.

Latin and Penmanship {Laurelwood Books Review}

Crew Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

