With Thanksgiving coming up I needed to plan what we are doing in school.  I have very little resources for Thanksgiving other than  a few things.  I didn’t have any books that covered this era.

My usual go to is Amazon.com.  Oh my!  Lots of books to choose from!  There had to be a better way to narrow my choices down!  The Lord gave me the idea to check our history program for resources!  That was perfect!  I can buy some books and then they will be used when we get to that point of their program.  I chose books from their lower grammar level, which is where my girls are currently at.  I don’t expect all three girls to move up to upper grammar between now and when we reach that time period in another year.  If anyone moves up it would be my oldest and I will just cross that bridge when I get to it.  I will also have two more that will be in lower grammar the next time we cycle through the year plans and of course reading from the books every year, so they will get a lot of use.  🙂  A couple of the books have projects and crafts which my kids enjoy to do!

These are the books I have chosen!

Colonial Days by David C. King
Colonial Kids by Laurie Carlson
Colonial Living by Edwin Tunis
The Jamestown Colony by Brendan January
The New Americans by Betsy Maestro and Giulio Maestro
Pocahontas by Ingri & Edgar Parin d’Aula
Three Young Pilgrims by Cheryl Harness

Have a very blessed day!

Leave a Reply

